Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tube amp SMPS

Tube amp SMPS

Hello all, first post.

I'm not an engineer, but trained in electronics 16 years in the field. Built many tube amps before, but no switching supplies. I'm trying to put a tube amp in my car, so I need a switching supply. Most of the circuit is already built with remote power relay/driver transistor, filaments, and the PWM chip all wired up and producing sawtooth waveforms at the Ct/Rt pin. All that's left is the transformer, here's the simulation I hope I did it correctly.

calc1.JPG

Note that I'm not using push pull topology, I'll be using a pair of IRFZ46N in parallel to switch the primary. Not sure what that's called, in tube land single ended. lol I know the primary wire size isn't right, I'll probably have to use 3/4 pieces of .012" wire twisted together to handle the amps.

Anyhow the turns ratios look about right for the B+ I'm after, I'm just not sure about RDSon value. Planning to pull around 10A peak from the primary, I need around 250ma on the secondary to run a stereo push pull vacuum tube output stage and a few spare milliamps for the voltage amp/phase splitter stages.

Thanks in advance.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by miniman82 View Post
    Hello all, first post.

I'm not an engineer, but trained in electronics 16 years in the field. Built many tube amps before, but no switching supplies. I'm trying to put a tube amp in my car, so I need a switching supply. Most of the circuit is already built with remote power relay/driver transistor, filaments, and the PWM chip all wired up and producing sawtooth waveforms at the Ct/Rt pin. All that's left is the transformer, here's the simulation I hope I did it correctly.

calc1.JPG