Llc hb smps 2000w

Silvio

Here is an smps that I have been working on for the last 6 months. This is my first prototype and apart from the simplicity this smps has a lot of features for it to work on an audio amplifier.

1) Over input voltage protection with a Varistor

2) A good input filter to reduce EMI as much as possible

3) Generous input and output capacitance 2700uF in the 320v input and 10,000uF on the output

4) A good soft start design

5) A good short circuit protection which is self reset after 3 seconds and turns to hiccup mode if the short is still present. Eventually it will turn to thermal protection sensing the heat on the soft start resistors.

6) Thermal protection with a normally open bi-metal switch on the IGBT heat sink

7) Temperature controlled fan speed for 3 X 12v 80mm fans.

8) Being LLC has a sinusoidal current wave form. This helps a lot in reducing EMI and noise

9) From my initial tests it seems very promising and very strong.

10) The SMPS peaked 2300w with a modest voltage drop of 11% on the output voltage.

11) The power factor was 0.65 with no load and 0.98 at full load.

12) The efficiency reached around 89%

13) Lastly the fuse was omitted from the PCB as this is to be attached on the amp chassis.

2000w smps 1.JPG2000w smps 2.JPG2000w smps 3.JPG2000w smps 4.JPG2000w smps 5.JPG

Last edited:

Silvio

Not really its 100% my design and i spent a lot of time perfecting each section so that i will have a reliable smps.
In my early versions I had a problem with start up issues. Now it can start facing a 1.5 Kw or more load. The smps is true 2K which can be sustained for 10 min at cont load with propper cooling. Its size is quite small for its power being 18 x 22cm. I might share it but with a different control circuit that use Ir 2153 chip. The SC will be latching type not auto reset. I may also include the thermal protection aswell.

res_smps