Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: High voltage boost using UC3845. Need some assistance!

diysmps Member

High voltage boost using UC3845. Need some assistance!

I'm pretty new to SMPS.I am trying to design a boost converter using the UC3845. I want to step up from 19V (e.g. laptop PSU, but currently using a bench power supply) to about 250V. It would be nice to get 50mA out of it, but I would settle for less.

I have a circuit that is sort of functioning, except its load regulation seems unusually poor. Here's the problem:
    Switching frequency ~39kHz
    296V into 100k load, duty cycle 20.2%
    250V into 25k load, duty cycle 29.5%
    242V into 20k load, duty cycle 31.8%

Can anyone suggest why the output is so poorly regulated, and how to fix this?
    sdfddfs.png
    Last edited by daviddeakin; 06-19-2014 at 10:45 AM.

diysmps Member
    Just noticed a typo: R3 is actually 1k, not 10k.

diysmps Senior Member
    To get the voltage ratio you want means a duty cycle of 0.924. The UC3845 is internally limited to D<0.5 which limits your output voltage to 2xVin=38V. UC3842 or UC3843 would be more capable here. It's still a big ratio to ask of a boost converter. you will also need slope compensation as the duty cycle is high and if this is operating in continuous conduction mode, you need to account for the right hand plane zero.

I'm making the assumption that your inductor and output capacitor have been calculated correctly. Compensation could probably also be optimised for a better loop response.

Matt
    Buck derived converters in regulated power supplies require output inductors
    and the following control modes (voltage or current mode control; bold is recommended).

Buck (CMC/VMC) | Forward (CMC/VMC) | 2-switch forward (CMC/VMC) | Half Bridge (VMC) | Push-pull (CMC) | Full Bridge (CMC). Click for basic schematics.
    ON Semiconductor TL431 design guide

diysmps Senior Member