How to yield more power from salvaged EE33/EI33 pc cores

Jay B

Hi all.
This is my first post in this forum. After some study and a lot of disassembled smps I decided to make one to power 4 lm3886 amplifiers. The problem is that I have only salvaged EI33 cores from cheap atx psus. Bigger cores are unavailable in local market.
The first question is: can I bind side by side two of these cores to double the output power like we do with linear psu transformers?
The second question: since Im a newbie and I still don't have access to a oscilloscope, what's the rate of success, considering that I want to make everything, including the transformer and pcb (at least) visually perfect?

wally7856

Hard to say if you can do this without a scope you might need a liter of luck. Yes you can stack cores, 2 cores double the power.

norazmi

diysmps Senior Member
you can use double EI or EE from old psu and the winding section for primary is defferent, to be successful build smps for first time is take from already made and test schema & pcb which u can found within diysmps. At least u have basic electronic and have experience make pcb for amp etc...

But for first try better do with single stack EI33 after u learn something and successful build one then u can go far. When u prepare to build u must know that u also need prepare to learn something new :D .

Jay B

Thanks everybody.
Every place I go i find this project, and I'm being seduced because it looks simple to build.

I want just to change that 4 big primary filter caps with 2 smaller ones, the opto zeners and obviously the transformer core.
The rest I want follow strictly the diagram to minimize the failure possibilities.
Once I get more confident, and learn some more, I'll try to suppress the auxiliary transformer and add a pfc circuit. But just after some serious study.
I think the hardest part for me is to have gut and plug it at the mains.

norazmi

diysmps Senior Member